Dramaturgy for The Second Shepherds’ Play

Hello there!

My name is Shawny Sena, and I am the dramaturg for the Open Source Theater Project’s production of The Second Shepherd’s Play.

What’s a dramaturg? Well, I’m so glad you asked. I am a resource for the playwright, director, cast, and design team, providing contextual research to bring the world of the play to life. The scope and focus of my job changes with every production. In this case, I focused on the staging principles of medieval theater, the specific caveats of the genre, and social strata of daily life.

In the coming days, I will be posting my research as a resource for the cast (and you, dear reader/patron). Keep your eyes peeled for an interview with playwright Barry Eitel!

Thanks,

Shawny

Leave a Reply

